Reviews

A real eye opener

Rated 5 out of 5
February 9, 2024

Having very little contact with the police force over my life, this book gave me a new perspective of the role an officer plays in our community. Thoroughly enjoyed the read over 2 days. Would highly recommended to others to read.

Rob Matthews

An honest and absorbing account through the eyes of our front-line officers

Rated 5 out of 5
April 6, 2023

I opened this book and was absorbed.
As the wife of a police officer I hear about some of the intracies of the job but some things cannot be discussed. These accounts which are both heartwarming and harrowing, are told in a human and sensitive way that reflect the daily realities of those we rely on so completely, and have given me a new perspective and insight of the work undertaken by our police officers.
Thankyou Dee for your story and for helping others tell theirs.
I cannot recommend this book enough.

Tania

A side to policing that I never thought of till now

Rated 5 out of 5
March 29, 2023

Hi Dee,
I loved your book!
As suggested from your other readers, I too couldn’t put it down.
There was so much insight into, not just the life of a police person but also into the many scenes that you painted and how they may present in our own lives. I found it to be relatable in a way that I never thought possible.
Well done to you for bringing to life the reality that our police force faces and how this affects them and their families.

Nicole Eva Knights

Compelling Read…

Rated 5 out of 5
March 16, 2023

The Author gives a thought provoking narrative that draws the reader in and leaves them wanting more with every turn of the page.
This book is a peephole into the lives of these Amazing Police Officers and doesn’t spare the grim details of the industry.
Thank you Dee Simpson for bravely sharing these stories as well as your own.

Catriona

Worthwhile Read

Rated 5 out of 5
February 26, 2023

Just finished reading, ‘It Was the Best of Days! It Was the Worst of Days!’ and it was a fantastic read. I’ve had many interactions with police over the recent years and have developed a great deal of admiration and appreciation for people like Dee who currently are working, or have previously worked on the front line. I think this book along with many others is valuable in providing insight and switching up peoples’ sometimes naive perceptions of police officers.
Thanks for your service with WAPOL and for the great read, Dee!

B.D.

A "must" read for the Police hierarchy and every politician and a "great" read for everyone else.

Rated 5 out of 5
December 30, 2022

After 33 years of service in WAPOL, I can say that this book gives some real-life insight to the daily lives of police officers, the highs and lows that they face. Not only does it highlight the dangers faced by police officers on the street but also the problems they suffer from inside their only ranks. Problems that are often ignored or receive inadequate action by the hierarchy or not followed up for fear of reprisal from peers.

Bernie Iriks

Insightful for a WAPOL wife on the outside.

Rated 5 out of 5
December 29, 2022

This book is absolutley incredible both my husband and i couldn’t put it down. It is so well written. It had me crying in parts and relating to others as a non- serving police wife.
As for my husband being a serving officer he realises now there is still so much he has yet to deal with in ths job so this was maybe a bit of a reality check.
It has given me so much more insight to what my husband is dealing with each day and how i can help him cope each night. I want to protect our marriage and always be there to nurture him the way only a wife can to keep his mental health on track.
Thank you for taking the time to write this book. I will be encouraging all to read it.

Chelsea

Increased Respect & Appreciation

Rated 5 out of 5
December 28, 2022

Fantastic read….. highly recommend to all.
As a non serving member of WAPOL it’s given me so much more respect and understanding of what our boys and girls in blue are faced with in a daily basis. Thanks for sharing theirs and your story.

Clare

High Expectations

Rated 5 out of 5
September 1, 2022

Dee, so looking forward to reading your book.
It was a great honour and pleasure to share the policing world with you in two locations.
I wish you well, now and into the future.

Eddy Duffy

FANTASTIC READ!

Rated 5 out of 5
August 8, 2022

Really, really enjoyed this book…..kept me reading and a great insight into the stress of the job. Well done Dee, you should be very proud.

Veronica C

Amazing Read - An insight into the “Realities” of Policing.

Rated 5 out of 5
August 4, 2022

A heart warming read….A gut wrenching read. Dee gives an open and honest account into the life of a Police Officer. As a former Police Officer and comrade of Dee, I have also had the pleasure of helping people in their time of need and dealing with scum of the Earth who inflict unimaginable horrors on fellow….and often vulnerable….human beings, including being involved in one of the Officers “worst days” account within the book.
Dee not only delves into the highs and lows of every day Police Work, but delves into the culture within the Police Force. A must read. Thank-you Dee for an amazing read. ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Ian Hayward

Heart wrenching, life changing and thought provoking.

Rated 5 out of 5
May 23, 2022

Thank you so much for writing this book, Dee. I love your approach. I don’t know how much of these things you’ve experienced, but wow!
I’ve always had so much respect and adoration for police, paramedics and military people. I’ve always taken the time to approach and share my gratitude to any officer, military and also paramedics I’ve met.
Thank you for being you, Dee and opening up these stories for us. I’m so proud of you for writing such a powerful book and giving us a tiny glimpse of what it’s like in the police force.
I’ll be re-reading some of the stories overtime because I don’t want to miss the details within the story.
One thing that was so evident to me was the hurting and desperation out there in the world.
Thank you so much, Dee. You’re an incredible young lady whom I admire.
My hope is that thousands of people and especially teenagers get to read this book.
You’re a blessing and inspiration to me.
Thank you!

Eric Edge

It was the best of days it was the worst of days

Rated 5 out of 5
May 5, 2022

I am very proud to say I was one of the officers in this book . And know the author very well , in life you just have to put your feeling into words it’s a sort of recovery thing for people suffering PTSD . Dee you showed true courage in your words to the world ..Hopefully in the near future Doctors Psychologist and the rest will have at better understand and better support for officers that give their job their lives family and communities it all.. Never a truer book have I read gripping honest raw and exhilarating.. Well done my beautiful honest friend ..😘

Kerry Davis

A Must Read. Real, Sobering Insightful.

Rated 5 out of 5
April 30, 2022

Dee offers an excellent anecdotal account of day to day policing. She details the hopes of recruits, the nature of taskings, and the sometimes dismissive culture of the hierachy that erodes the human spirit and causes perpetual harm to police employees and their families. The stories do not sidestep the gruesome nature of the work. The stories highlight the connection that members find with each other, and in the satisfaction of making a difference in the lives of the public. Dee’s work calls all in authority to pay attention to more effective police welfare; prevention and the implementation of recovery strategies.

Tim, Police Chaplain

The Best & Worst of Times

Rated 5 out of 5
April 19, 2022

I will qualify this review by noting that I am a retired female police officer with 30 years service, one who joined in 1986 – a time when in spite of feminism, misogyny was rife in every police force. So, my review is based on my respect for fellow female officers and this author’s bravery for speaking up about some of the bullying and harassment she experienced.
However, this book is not just about that. It contains numerous anecdotes from her fellow officers, linked to the title of the book ‘best and worst of days’ – so, days that police remember as the reason they wanted to join up ‘to help people’ – for the true satisfaction that brings; for the worst – when everything goes wrong and police are expected to fix the lot, do it with a smile and never complain. Much easier said than done.
While I would recommend this book for police and civilians alike – it is more likely to resonate with police – current and ex. It speaks of common experiences that we all underwent on numerous occasions – dependent on our length of service. For while I would like to think that civilians reading this would gain an insight into the ‘copper’s lot’, it is too difficult to really convey the gravity and impact of everything we see and do – although Dee tries to bring that to life through each of the chapters. Having never experienced most of the things inherent in a day to day police career, it really is an unimaginable life for outsiders.
One caution – if you are police or ex police – many of the stories may aggravate any PTSD symptoms you already have. You will see yourself or your colleagues in so many of the stories – which will bring your own difficult memories back to the forefront of your mind. Keep an eye on yourself when reading these accounts. Try to remember the good times too.

Megan R

Wow, what an amazing read!!

Rated 5 out of 5
April 18, 2022

Wow, what an amazing read! it tells so many stories of what police officers have to endure and the after effects that policing has on them, It brought me to tears!! Hopefully there will be more support out there for officers in the future. I will definitely be recommending this book to my friends and family.

Alexia

Dee Simpson

Rated 5 out of 5
April 11, 2022

Fantastic
A really enjoyed this book and hope you and enjoy the book as I did. The stories of police experiences is very moving and one of o kind.

Peter

Definitely should read this book one of a kind insight

Rated 5 out of 5
April 11, 2022

A brilliant book, I am not a police officer but gives a real life experience of a life as an officer. I couldn’t put the book down. The real life experiences were breathtaking and very moving. I would highly recommended this book.

Linda
5
Rated 5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (based on 18 reviews)
Excellent100%
Very good0%
Average0%
Poor0%
Terrible0%

Here are two ways that you’ll be able to share what you think:

  1. Write a review on Amazon.
  2. Share a comment right on my website!

Thank you for your support.

It Was the Best of Days! It Was the Worst of Days! An Honest, Raw and Real Account of Policing. Welcome to a Normal Day in the Life of a Police Officer! by Dee Simpson Author